VISUAL ARTS LINKS + RESOURCES
IB Year 1 students should be looking through these!

List of Artists + Movements
Wikipedia's List of Contemporary Artists
Richard Serra Verb List


ART + DESIGN LINKS
The highlighted sites are suggested reading for IBY1 students.

Art 21 - http://www.art21.org/
Phaidon | Agenda Blog - http://uk.phaidon.com/agenda/
ArtBabble - http://www.artbabble.org/
The Guardian - Art + Design Section - http://www.guardian.co.uk/artanddesign

ART BLOGS


This is Colossal: http://www.thisiscolossal.com
booooooom: http://www.booooooom.com/
Faith is Torment: http://www.faithistorment.com/
HiFructose: http://hifructose.com/
New American Paintings: http://www.newamericanpaintings.com/blog
Wooster Collective http://www.woostercollective.com - Street Art!

Urban Sketchers http://www.urbansketchers.org -


ART NEWS

Art Agenda: http://www.art-agenda.com/
Art Info: http://www.blouinartinfo.com/

DESIGN LINKS

Fast Company: http://www.fastcodesign.com
Designboom: http://www.designboom.com/design
Designspiration http://designspiration.net/ User-submitted images for design inspiration

ARCHITECTURE LINKS

Phaidon Agenda (Architecture Section): http://uk.phaidon.com/agenda/architecture/
Designboom: http://www.designboom.com/architecture/
The Guardian (Architecture Section): http://www.guardian.co.uk/artanddesign/architecture-design-blog
RISD Architecture Department: http://architecture.risd.edu/
History of Architectural Developments + Timeline: http://www.historyworld.net
Frame: http://www.frameweb.com: interior design



MISC LINKS

OpenCulture - http://www.openculture.com
Brain Pickings http://www.brainpickings.org
RadioLab http://www.radiolab.org/
TED Talks - http://www.ted.com/talks and the new TED-Ed - http://education.ted.com/

Google Art Project - http://www.googleartproject.com/ Take virtual tours of the world's most famous art museums using Google's street view technology.

PHOTOGRAPHY RESOURCES
Aperture Blog: http://www.aperture.org/blog/ Keep an eye out for their excellent Photography Reading Shortlists to stay on top of what the buzz is about
Phaidon | Agenda Blog: http://uk.phaidon.com/agenda/
Ways of Working: http://2point8.whileseated.org/wow-footer and The Phyla of Street Photography: http://2point8.whileseated.org/2006/05/18/the-phylums-of-street-photography/
A series of excellent articles on the practice of street photography.
Hardcore Street Photography (Flickr Group) - http://www.flickr.com/groups/onthestreet/pool/
Magnum Photography: http://www.magnumphotos.com/
Atget Photography: A good website for information on significant photographers: http://www.atgetphotography.com/
Masters of Photography: http://www.masters-of-photography.com/index.html
The New Yorker's Photo Booth Blog: http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/photobooth
Time's Lightbox Blog: http://lightbox.time.com/
The New York Times - Lens Blog: http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com/
LensCulture: http://www.lensculture.com/
Feature Shoot: http://www.featureshoot.com/
Vivian Maier: http://vivianmaier.blogspot.com/
A recent NYTimes Article on the ongoing project processing Vivian's film: http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/02/16/vivian-maier/

The Pixel Store: http://www.pixel-store.co.uk We recommend this site to order your camera for class.
The Print Space: http://www.theprintspace.co.uk A London print shop favored by several of our photography students

STREET PHOTOGRAPHY
in-PUBLiC Street Photography Collective: http://www.in-public.com/
Seconds2Real: http://www.seconds2real.com/ Street photography cooperative from Austria and Germany
http://www.public-life.org/
http://zonezero.com/zz/
http://strange.rs/
http://www.panos.co.uk/
http://agencevu.com/
http://drik.net/
http://majorityworld.com/

PUBLICATIONS
http://www.nickturpinpublishing.com/
http://www.burnmagazine.org/
http://www.sevensevennine.com/
http://insig.ht/
http://www.foto8.com/new/
http://www.americansuburbx.com/
http://lpvmagazine.com/2011/02/blogging-from-a-deserted-island/
http://streetreverbmagazine.com/


DESIGN RESOURCES

LEGAL MUSIC TO USE FOR VIDEO / PODCASTS ( from: creative commons)

Free Music Archive
Jamendo
ccMixter
Magnatune

TEXTURES + PS BRUSHES

Bittbox - http://www.bittbox.com/ - both textures and PS brushes. favorites are the grunge and watercolor brushes.
Lost and Taken http://lostandtaken.com/ - high resolution textures

IMAGES

Corbis - http://www.corbisimages.com - both commercial and royalty free.

FONTS

Dafont.com - http://www.dafont.com - free fonts sortable by style / theme


ART + DESIGN SCHOOLS (US)
UK / Europe to be added soon.

Rhode Island School of Design
Maryland Institute College of Art
Carnegie Mellon University
Pratt Institute
School of Visual Arts
Fashion Institute of Technology
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Savannah College of Art & Design
California College of the Arts
Parsons: The New School for Design
Rochester Institute of Technology
School of the Museum of Fine Arts
Ringling College of Art + Design

MUSEUMS
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) New York, NY
The Metropolitan Museum of Art New York, NY
Musee du Louvre, Paris, France
J. Paul Getty Center Los Angeles, California
Musee d'Orsay Paris, France
Uffizi Gallery Florence, Italy
Tate ModernLondon, England
National Gallery London, England
V+A The Victoria + Albert Museum, London
Prado MuseumMadrid, Spain
National Gallery of Art Washington, DC